Kerr Wins Rudy T Award from NBA Writers

OAKLAND, April 27, 2015 -- Steve Kerr of the Golden State Warriors was named the winner of the 2014-15 Rudy Tomjanovich Award, annually honoring a coach for his cooperation with the media and fans, as well as his excellence on the court, the Professional Basketball Writers Association - PBWA - announced. In his first season as Golden State’s head coach, Kerr guided his team to a league-best 67-15 record and fostered an atmosphere of mutual respect, thoughtfulness and congeniality with the working media.

Steve Kerr (l) and Steph Curry have helped revive the GS Warriors.
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The PBWA selected five finalists for the award this season. The other finalists were the Toronto Raptors’ Dwane Casey, the Los Angeles Clippers’ Doc Rivers, the Boston Celtics’ Brad Stevens and the Detroit Pistons’ Stan Van Gundy. Kerr won the award through a vote of PBWA members. Kerr, 49, brought experience as an NBA player, team executive and television analyst to his job with the Warriors. He won a total of five NBA titles as a player, winning three championships as a member of the Chicago Bulls and two more as a member of the San Antonio Spurs. Kerr spent three seasons as the Phoenix Suns' president of basketball operations and general manager and also served as a color commentator on TNT's NBA coverage after his playing career..

The award is named for Rudy Tomjanovich, the former Houston Rockets forward and former Rockets, Los Angeles Lakers and Team USA coach who always was professional and respectful in his dealings with the media. During his 13 seasons as an NBA head coach, Tomjanovich amassed a 527-416 regular-season record and a 51-39 postseason record. His Rockets won back-to-back NBA titles in 1994 and 1995. He guided the USA to a gold medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games.

The PBWA comprises approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis and work for newspapers, Internet services and magazines. Kerr will receive his Rudy Tomjanovich Award trophy during an on-court ceremony prior to an upcoming Warriors postseason game in Oakland, Calif.

Rudy Tomjanovich Award winners

2010-11 Jerry Sloan, Utah Jazz

2011-12 Doc Rivers, Boston Celtics

2012-13 George Karl, Denver Nuggets

2013-14 Frank Vogel, Indiana Pacers

2014-15 Steve Kerr, Golden State Warriors

(Terry Lyons, editor-in-chief of DigitalSportsDesk, is a member of the Pro Basketball Writers Association and the United States Basketball Writers Association).