Watch List: 16 College PFs Looking to Deliver for Mailman

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., February 18, 2015 -- (Staff Report with Official Press Release) -- The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame recently announced "watch list" members for the 2015 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year award, named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone.  The honor, in its inaugural year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 16 candidates.

Georges Niang (31), Perry Ellis (34) among College PFs competing for award.
Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

“2015 marks the first year the Basketball Hall of Fame will recognize the top players in all positions in men’s college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Hall. “When it comes to power forwards who have had a drastic impact on the game, Karl Malone is at the top of the list. In terms of consistent play, “The Mailman” always delivered and we are delighted to include him in this recognition of the best power forwards in the game today.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

“I’m grateful to be a part of this prestigious award,” said Karl Malone, a 2010 inductee at Springfield. “To be recognized by the Basketball Hall of Fame is an honor and each of the fifteen power forwards on this list is very deserving.”

By early March, the current list of 16 finalists for the 2015 Karl Malone Award will be narrowed down to five players. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2015 Karl Malone Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2015. 

2015 Karl Malone Award Candidates

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, University of Arizona

Justin Moss, University at Buffalo

Kevon Looney, UCLA

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga University

David Laury, Iona College

Aaron White, University of Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State University

Perry Ellis, University of Kansas

Jordan Mickey, Louisiana State University

Montrezl Harrell, University of Louisville

Jake Layman, University of Maryland

Christian Wood, UNLV

Seth Tuttle, University of Northern Iowa

Myles Turner, University of Texas

Larry Nance Jr., University of Wyoming

Rico Gathers, Baylor University